5 Miles in 96 Degrees

22 Jul

Yesterday Jonathan and I ran a hot and sweaty five mile race out in Weston, MA. What was supposed to be an easy five mile race to get us back into racing turned into what was probably the hardest five miles I will hopefully ever run. Major fail.

The weather was forecasted in the mid 90’s but I was hopeful that by 7 pm it would have let up a bit – no chance.

Temperature right before the race started. Not good.

So, that was it. We were running this thing in the scorching 96 degree heat whether we liked it or not. In my defense, I signed us up for this race in April, it was 38 and would have laughed at you if you told me it would be 96. That’s the thing about Boston Winter’s – it’s cold for sooooo long that you almost forget what it feels like to be hot. I definitely remember now!

  7 pm finally rolled around, the buzzer sounded and we were off. The first mile wasn’t too bad. Although I always find myself discouraged because I start out so slow. I’ve tried to fix it but my body just won’t move quickly the first two miles. I get passed and passed by people I eventually jog passed around the third mile marker, but no matter how many of these things I run it still gets under my skin that I get passed so frequently in the beginning.

Around the 2nd mile marker is when the race got really fun torturous. From then on the course was almost entirely uphill. Mix that with scorching temperatures and you can kiss and hopes of a fast time good-bye. I have never seen so many people walking on a short course, it was just so hot and the hills were brutal! Thank heavens for the good people of Weston. Most of the residents were out in front of their homes, huge and gorgeous homes at that, cheering us on and fully loaded with sprinklers and hoses to help cool us off. Amazing! The water stops were used entirely for dumping on my head and I swear that last mile felt like it would go on forever. After 48 long, sweaty minutes I was finally done. And I even managed to sprint passed and beat the girl who was ahead of me the entire race. My competitive nature will never be broken, not even by 96 degree heat.

Sweaty and happy after a looong race

Sweaty and no so happy

Once I was finished I walked stumbled over to meet Jonathan who had finished a few minutes ahead of me at our designated meeting spot. He of course was armed with a whole loaf of bread and some snacks to recharge with. We sat and regained our energy then got up to grab some loot from the very impressive spread of sponsors. I think we have enough race fuel to last us the rest of the year! It was finally time to leave and I swear I had to drag Jonathan from the Domino’s Pizza tent – this was after he had already devoured an entire loaf of bread, a banana, an orange, a protein shake and countless protein bars. Before dinner. That boy’s metabolism really gets under my skin.

We love free stuff!

All in all it was a good, fun race and I’m sure we will be back next year – hopefully with cooler temperatures. I did gain something from this race though, other than near heat stroke. As I was trotting along somewhere around mile 3 ,  I began thinking about how different my life was just five years ago. In 2006, I was back in school, my dating life was a disaster, and my longest run was probably 3 miles at best. I remember tagging along a five mile run with Mandy and Ricky and feeling like I was going to die. And it was flat course. Now, just five years later I am living in Boston, married to my favorite person in the world, and running five mile races just for the fun of it. Even though it was not the easiest or fastest race, I still can’t be anything but proud of how far I’ve come in just five short years. And that’s something heat or hills can’t take away from me.

4 Responses to “5 Miles in 96 Degrees”

  1. Nancy Leonard 07/22/2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Hey, Kris, this is so cute! Very proud of you & Jonathan! I know you were exhausted from the weekend and the heat, so what an accomplishment! Love the idea of a blog to keep everyone caught up on your exciting life!. Keep it up and take it easy!
    Love you,
    Mom

  2. Mandy 07/25/2011 at 1:43 pm #

    That’s one sweaty, red-faced couple! Thought you could get away from the heat in Florida, but it’s after you! Miss you guys, Mandy

  3. Elisa 07/26/2011 at 12:59 am #

    Your face looks like mine did after a tennis match in the summer!! SO proud of you both! I can’t do 4 miles in 48 minutes!!

    You guys look amazing and I loved your little life flashback. It’s nice to do that every once in awhile just to see how far we have come.

    I love you and miss you so much and I can’t wait to see your face in September!!

    Love you both!!!

  4. Mike 08/10/2011 at 9:23 pm #

    So what’s wrong with the way it was in the 1950’s?

Sharing is caring

