Cape Cod, Death Cab and Artichoke Hummus

3 Aug

After an insane few weeks I am attempting to calm down from the crazy busy, super fun month that was July. I had been looking forward to the whole month for a while and it was even better than I could have expected. I’m left with great memories, a slight tan(still shameful in comparison to my old Florida girl tan), and in serious need of a nap!

This past weekend marked the last weekend in July and we spent it in Cape Cod with a few of our favorite Bostonians…the Hanaka’s! Melissa and Dave were gracious enough to invite us and we definitely took full advantage!

Our weekend digs. Not too shabby!

Saturday we woke up bright and early, had some coffee and headed out for a six mile run. We (Jonathan) got a little lost and accidentally turned the stop watch off mid-run and we ended up running close to 7 miles..whoops! It was a really nice run through the gorgeous neighboorhood and an extra mile will only help, right?! If only I had more than coffee beforehand.

After the run we suited up and headed to Old Silver Beach for the afternoon. It was a perfect day filled with sunshine and a cool breeze. The water was the perfect temperature and the company was even better!  We packed a picnic lunch (by packed I mean picked up food from the local market) enjoyed the sunshine and a good book. Melissa and I could have stayed all day…definitely cannot say the same for our Husband’s! They need more stimulation apparently.

On our way back we stopped at the market to pick up a few items to be grilled that evening. We bought lots of fresh veggies and decided on Filet Mignon for our entree. Yum!

We returned home, prepared the food, showered and got the grill warmed up. To pass some time we played a pretty serious game of Pay Me. I ended up wining in a pretty intense head-to-head with my Husband. Once the game was over the boys got to grilling and the ladies set the table. Could that have sounded anymore 1950’s??

Dave maning the grill.

After we enjoyed our delicious and healthy dinner, Maria and her friends came back! Maria is Dave’s adorable Mother and the owner of the house. She is a lot of fun and always makes great conversation. Love her stories! The four of us talked for hours then it was up to bed after a long but fun-filled day.

Maria and Melissa

Sunday consisted of scouting out the local neighborhoods (so cute!) and relxing by the pool. We got into another game of Pay Me and I lost miserably. That previous game must have been beginner’s luck! We headed home that afternoon and I am already missing the beach. I think growing up in Florida you acquire an unbreakable bond with the ocean…have’t been able to shake mine yet! That and my hatred for the Winter.

Boston skyline at sunset. Gorgeous!

Last night we finally got to see one of my favorite bands – Death Cab for Cutie! Don’t let the name scare you, they are actually a pretty mellow alternative rock band and I’m sure you’ve heard something of theirs before. They put on a fantastic show and I am so glad we got to see them here in Boston! I am not excited, however, about the girl IN FRONT of me in line getting the last small t-shirt at the merchandise tent. I really hate when things like that happen. Oh well. If they happen to be in your area you should definitely check them out. You will not be disappointed!

Tonight I was supposed to run four miles. There was pretty scary lighting and heavy rain going on outside today and the thought of running on the dreadmill sounded horrific to me. I know, I’m so dramatic. I think I’m officially worn out from last month and this little head cold that’s been lingering for the past few days. So, I decided to be somewhat productive and cure my hummus craving. I whipped up a batch of hummus with artichoke and spicy red pepper. So delicious and healthy! I don’t know why I don’t make this dish more often. It is extremely easy and cost effective! Here’s the recipe if anyone is interested. Feel free to substitute the artichoke and red pepper for things like olives, spinach or even basil! Enjoy!

Spicy Artichoke Hummus

Ingredients:

  • 1 can chick peas, drained and rinsed.
  • 2 tablespoons Tahini
  • 2 Tablespoons red pepper infused olive oil(or regular olive oil)
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 Tablespoon water
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/2 can artichoke hearts, drained
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • Few dashes Sriracha chili sauce
  • Dash of salt
Combine ingredients(minus artichokes) into food processor and blend until smooth. Add artichoke hearts and pulse until artichokes are blended but still chunky. Enjoy with pita, veggies or as a spread!

5 Responses to “Cape Cod, Death Cab and Artichoke Hummus”

  1. Mandy 08/03/2011 at 2:52 am #

    Glad to see you are making your own hummus these days…instead of stealing mine! :op

    • bostonlovers 08/03/2011 at 1:54 pm #

      Ha! You should come visit more often and I’ll make you some 😉

  2. bri 08/03/2011 at 3:19 am #

    yummy recipe! very nice life! miss you guys!

  3. Melissa 08/03/2011 at 8:14 pm #

    Had such a good time with you guys. Next time we’ll leave the boys home and go to the beach alllll day!! What happened to the blog title we discussed?

  4. Elisa 08/06/2011 at 10:14 pm #

    I really think that you are one of the cutest people I know Lucy! I love to read your blog, but I have to admit it makes me miss you even more!

    And I will be making that recipe, it sounds amazing!!

Sharing is caring

