This Just Happened

24 Aug

Well, ok, it happened last night. But still, it’s kind of a big deal. Scratch that, a HUGE deal. I, along with my super handsome and supportive Husband, are officially running the Philadelphia Marathon on November 20th. It took about 5 weeks of obsessively checking the Philadelphia Marathon website and twitter account to make sure that it was not sold-out and a successful 11 mile run this past weekend for me to have the guts to actually sign up. Not to mention the fact that last week when I checked the twitter account and read “Only 5 spots left” my heart sank until I finished reading “in the Ronald McDonald Charity group.” I ¬†realized then how heartbroken I would be if this race sold-out before I registered. Since last year’s race sold-out Labor Day weekend I decided that if this past weekend’s run went well, I was signing up. No more excuses.

I have 88 days and 336(!) training miles to go. My current mental state is split between terrified and totally excited. Mentally, I know I am completely capable. I think I have a pretty strong mental game and they say marathoning is 90% mental and 10% physical. I am, however, extremely worried about the 10%. I am just coming out of an injury and I have the worst possible feet for running. Thank you, Dad, for this wonderful genetic gift. Blisters and I are quickly becoming the best of friends. I am seriously considering buying stock in Second Skin, I can’t even run three miles without it these days. It scares me to think what my poor feet will look like after 20 miles – if I even have feet left at that point. I’m not sure which i am worried about more, but I am certainly worried. Also the fact that I’m only in week 6 of 18 and I am tired. Like really freaking tired. I know I need to throw in more than one rest day in the mix and my current Harry Potter addiction is not helping the sleep situation. I just started these books a few weeks ago and can’t quite seem to put them down. It’s a problem. I am working on it, sort of. I am hoping once I am finished with these I will start getting to bed before midnight. More sleep = less tired Kristen.

Also, if any of you do not have plans for the weekend of November 19-20th, please come to Philadelphia. It would be awesome. I am aware that most of you will not come and I won’t hold this against you. Standing in the freezing cold for 4 hours cheering on a bunch of lunatics is probably not your idea of a good time. I don’t blame you. But if for some reason you think you might want to come join the party, please do. If any of you have ever done a distance race you will know just how much support means. Even if it’s just one person standing in the cold cheering us on, it would mean the worls to us and we would love you forever. For reals.

So as we continue on this crazy marathon journey(12 more weeks!) we could use as much support and motivation as possible. Even if I’m just calling you to tell you that I’m tired and sore or if I’m not calling you it’s because I’m tired and sore, please do not take offense. I still love all of you, I’m just too tired to express it. I will also try and be better at updating this thing. I have a ton to recap on and will get on it as soon as I remember to upload pictures onto my computer instead of reading Harry Potter. My world will be a much better place as soon as I finish reading these. 4 more to go!

7 Responses to “This Just Happened”

  1. Elisa 08/24/2011 at 4:41 pm #

    Totally understand the Harry Potter addiction! I was late everywhere I went while reading them. I could not put them down! I have read them all about 3 times each. I’m obsessed!

    CONGRATS on the marathon!! I am more than proud of you!!! I wish that I could be there for you that day but just know I am thinking about you and rooting for you both!!

    Love you
    Elisa

  2. Mandy 08/24/2011 at 4:47 pm #

    I always knew you would turn into a Potthead. Most addicting book ever. It’s really a gateway book into a greater book obsession. Lots of teens start off as Pottheads and before you know it they are noise deep in a great American novel!

    In all seriousness – good luck on the marathon! And stay safe during the storm. Who knew you’d move to New England and end up worrying about earthquakes and hurricanes!

    We are supposed to be in Long Island for Catherine’s wedding this weekend. Hope Irene doesn’t crash the party!

    • bostonlovers 08/24/2011 at 4:59 pm #

      Spartle, you’re a dork. But seriously, poor Catherine! Is she freaking out!!

  3. mike 08/24/2011 at 5:01 pm #

    I think you sore feet are from ill fitting shoes and socks. NOT ME.
    Good luck!

  4. Elysa 08/24/2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Woo Hoo! So excited and proud of you guys- xoxo. Good luck with training and just recite Harry Potter spells on your long runs!

  5. Nancy Leonard 08/26/2011 at 12:13 am #

    I am so proud of ya’ll. If anyone can do it, you can! Your poor feet:( Isn’t there something else you can do for them? Super, duper, shoes, or socks, or something? Anyway, we love you guys so much and support all that you do. Just GET SOME SLEEP!!
    Love you,
    Mom

  6. mike 08/27/2011 at 7:37 pm #

    Hey, you guys going to Niagara Falls for the weekend or somewhere else WEST of Boston?

Sharing is caring

