Fall is For Lovers

11 Nov

This season, or year really, has been a pretty wacky one in terms of weather. In October we had many days where the temperatures reached the high 80’s and the next weekend it was 32 degrees. Considering October is by far my favorite month for weather, I was a little concerened when November made it’s debut with a freak snow storm just days after it was 80 degrees. I was pretty convinced my favorite season had come and gone in a matter of hours.

Then sometime in the last few weeks, Fall finally arrived. The streets are fully-lined with trees full of colorful, vibrant leaves, the air is crisp and my outfits consist primarily of chunky sweaters, scarves and boots. I’m also having a very hard time resisting the Dunkin Donuts pumpkin iced coffee. So delicious.

With the marathon right around the corner(!), we had our last long-ish mid-week run this morning. I’ve been recovering from an exhausting but fun-filled bachelorette weekend and a nagging cold, so getting up at 6 am this morning was not exactly at the top of my wish list. But the first thought that popped into my head when the alarm went off was that if I didn’t get up I was going to miss out on one of the last Fall morning runs where I can enjoy the beauty of the leaves. That’s all it took. I’m a sucker for foliage.

Today might just be the perfect Fall day. It was 42 degrees, crisp, with an over-cast sky. Perfect running weather in my book. We took off through a new route that wound through some of the outer-lying neighborhoods of Boston. To say it was a scenic run would be a gross understatement. It was one of those runs were I wished I had my camera, but then again pictures wouldn’t have done it justice. Every tree lining the gorgeous streets was a different color, complimenting the brick houses and red doors(my favorite). There were huge, vibrant red trees, what looked to be a sea of bright yellow and lime colored leaves surrounding houses and yards, orange leaves that were so bright I swore they were florescent. There were so many fallen leaves on the ground that in some places you could barely tell were the sidewalks were. I felt like a kid splashing through the puddles of leaves as we ran through the sidewalks. My little running heart was full.

I ended the run feeling energized and so thankful that I get to live in such a beautiful place and that I have two healthy, strong legs to run with. This is one of the many reasons why I love living in New England. Coming from Florida where the dying, dried-up trees is their definition of “foliage”, I am like a kid in candy store constantly marveling at the beauty of my surroundings.  Someone please remind me of this in the dead of Winter.

Another reason why I love Fall is the running. I hate, loath, despise running through the heat of the Summer and my face usually ends up some shade of fucshia by the end of it. Fall running brings crisp, cool breezes, faster running times and zero worries of over-heating. Also, it’s race season. I love the buzz race season up here brings – you can feel all the nervous energy from the many runners lining the sidewalks at all hours of the day. It’s so motivating!

On the plane back from Orlando this past weekend I got to watch the coverage of the NYC Marathon. It was so much fun to watch the elites breeze through 26 miles like it was a casual run, not to mention how intense the finish of the Elite women’s race was. I also loved seeing the rest of the runners and their excitement just for being out there. It made me so excited for my own Marathon next weekend. Yes, NEXT weekend!

In the meantime, I will be soaking up as much of the Fall weather as I can and dreaming about crossing that finish line.  I hope you are all enjoying Fall as much as I am!

And to my Florida friends who do not get to bask in the glory of seasons, here’s a few pictures of what you’re missing…

Palm trees got nothing on foliage. Suckers.

Sharing is caring

