Race Week

15 Nov

Holy Moly. How did this happen? Didn’t I just have six weeks left?? Seriously, time flies. A little too fast for me these days.

In four days I will be running my first marathon. I’m not really sure it’s hit me or maybe I’m just handling this a lot better than expected, because I’m really not nervous or scared or freaking out…not even a little bit. I’m actually really excited!

I’ve had every co-worker in my office ask me at least once how I’m feeling/if I’m scared/Aren’t you nervous?? And my sister called me this weekend with an opening line of “Are you TOTALLY freaking out?!?”…ummm, no but should I be?? I’m making myself nervous by how calm I am.

In all honesty, yes I am nervous but I know there is absolutely nothing I can do right now except be excited. I can’t do anything about my training at this point – it it what it is. The weather is completely out of my control – please God, don’t let it rain. I know everything I have to do to make sure I am in the best possible shape for Sunday – eat, sleep, stay hydrated, don’t trip on anything. And I am trying my best to be super organized and cross off every item on my list so that I’m not forgetting anything and adding unneeded stress – don’t forget the running shoes and the ipod, everything else can be bought. And train tickets – do NOT forget the train tickets!

There’s really not anything left to do but get excited and eat lots and lots of carbs(tough, I know). Because let’s be honest, does anyone(accept me) really care what my time is? Probably not. I’m not exactly in this to win anything. And at the end of the day, not matter what the time on the clock says I just crossed the finish line of a marathon. A MARATHON! Not that many people can say that. Not that I wouldn’t love to run a 4 hour marathon, I know I have zero idea about how my body will react to the extra 6.2 miles I have never run and I don’t want to ruin the experience for myself if I end up having to walk three of those. I want to enjoy this experience I worked so hard for and this may just be the last time I do this (probably  not). I may hate the marathon and I may love it, hoping for the latter.

I’m also excited because of how much support Jonathan and I will have on race day. I am truly blown away that 6(!) of my family members are taking time out of their lives to come cheer us on – granted one of them is a mere 9 weeks old and will probably be sleeping. And let’s be honest, who could not get excited at the sight of this:

Spectators take not: THIS is how you cheer on a runner!

For those of you cannot make it(we still love you), you can follow Jonathan and I via text message. The Philadelphia Marathon has a feature that let’s you get text messages that will tell you every five miles how we are doing. So, if you are interested in this please go to this link:

http://www.xacte.com/templates/philmar/

Don’t forget to read the instructions on the page.

So, in the next four days, fourteen hours and eighteen minutes and am going to try and stay excited, not stress out, load up on carbs, stay hydrated and try not hurt myself or get sick(this one,those of you who know me well enough know, will probably be the most difficult). Please say a few prayers for us.

The next time I write a post we will (hopefully)be MARATHONERS!

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Race Week”

  1. Mandy 11/15/2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Good luck!

  2. Elysa 11/15/2011 at 11:34 pm #

    Yay! We are so proud of you guys and all the hard work you’ve put in so far…you will both do great…the Kelly’s will be following you so thanks for putting up that link- its so cool! I’ll be sure not to let any of us drunk dial you from the Movember party so your feet can get their beauty sleep ;). Love you Feigs!

  3. Nancy Leonard 11/28/2011 at 2:55 am #

    Waiting to see your post-marathon blog! It was such an amazing experience watching you finish! A very proud moment for your mom! xoxo

Sharing is caring

