It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmakah!

8 Dec

Ok, way more like Christmas. I’m working on the Hanukkah – or Chanukah, or Hanika – part. Seriously, why are there so many ways to spell this holiday? It makes me crazy.

Anyways. December is here and that means Christmas music is played on the radio at all times(not Jonathan’s favorite part), Christmas shopping takes precedence over all other weekend activities, our home decor resembles Santa’s cottage and our apartment smells of delicious pine.

See, dreidels!

We got our tree the weekend after Thanksgiving and it may be one of my favorite trees ever. He’s perfectly round and tall and smells fantastic.

Bringing him home!

We got him home, put some lights on him then made him all fancy with ornaments and such. One of our favorite things to do when we go somewhere new is to buy a new ornament. I love having memories to unwrap and hang on the tree.

So handsome!

One of the traditions I have started since moving up to Boston(three years already!!) is that I try and do one Christmas/holiday related craft. This year I decided to make a banner. I absolutely love it and I can tell already this one will be around for a long time. How cute is it…

Merry and Bright!

Our festive living room

As for my holiday shopping, I pretty much banged it all out in one day. I did a very small amount of Black Friday shopping(read: one gift) and the only free weekend I have this month was this past weekend. With Jonathan out of town, I took full advantage and hit Newbury Street on Saturday morning.

I shopped ’till I dropped! Almost literally. I got there around 11 and left at 5:30. Six and half hours of shopping and I still have a few gifts left to buy! I had tons of fun though. I ended up finding some great gifts and got great deals with all the sales going on. Can’t beat that! I also love that there was live holiday music playing outside by different groups all along the streets while I shopped. It was probably one of my favorite Christmas shopping experiences ever.

Success!

There may or may not be things in there for myself. I have no discipline when good sales are involved.

Keeping with the holiday spirit, we are going to see the Boston Ballet’s The Nutcracker on my birthday. It was my only request! Ok, maybe not my only request, but certainly the most important. I have wanted to see this show since I moved up here, but somehow it never ends up happening. The Nutcracker is my all-time favorite Christmas story and something I hope, if I have a little girl someday, I can share with.

I’m extra excited about this Christmas because it is our first as a married couple. It is still hard for me to believe that it has been almost a year since our wedding day. I’m sort of in denial about the whole thing. I remember how slow the year leading up to it went, now I can’t seem to figure out how fast this past year has gone. Christmas, to me, has always been a very special and important time and I hope all these traditions we have started as a married couple will continue into our future family traditions. Jonathan hasn’t quite grasped the magic of Christmas and thinks I’m clinically insane for listening to holiday music for an entire month straight. I told him he will never understand it, nor do I expect him to, until we have small children. I remember very clearly just how magical Christmas was as a child and the feeling still resinates in me each and every season. I can’t wait to share the joy with my future children and experience it from my parent’s eyes.

Until then I am going to try and learn as much as I can about Channukah and the million ways to spell it. I have so much to learn and I am excited to merge all of Jonathan and my traditions together to make December and even more exciting and happy month.

Happy Holidays to you and yours!

2 Responses to “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmakah!”

  1. Nancy Leonard 12/08/2011 at 6:16 pm #

    You really did such a great job on your apt.! It’s wonderful to see you enjoying the holiday spirit so much. Can’t wait to have you & Jonathan and the whole family in NC this year! Xoxo mom ps. Dad says Jonathan like having a whole month of Christmas music!

  2. Elisa 12/08/2011 at 11:58 pm #

    Can’t wait to be with you guys on Christmas!

Sharing is caring

