My 2012 Goals

4 Jan

Another year gone, another year older. I can’t even believe how fast 2011 came and went. I feel like it was just a few weeks ago we had entered 2011 and I was honeymooning in Argentina. Sniff.

Although I am sad to see such an amazing year go, I’m really excited about 2012 and hope to take what I learned last year and make this year even better.

Here are my 2012 goals and resolutions:

1. Run a spring half marathon.

I actually got into the NYC 1/2 Marathon in March so I’ve already started training and can cross this one off the list soon! I think it will help a lot with Winter blues and keeping my spirits up during the cold, bitter months. Having a goal and something to look forward to always makes the time go by faster and will (hopefully) make the Winter a bit more bearable. I’m not sure why this concept took me so long to figure out, but I’m super excited about it! What’s even more exciting is my sister-in-law, Nicole, got in too!

NYC 1/2 here we come!

2. Not have an End of Winter melt down.

This may sound easy to you, but this has happened very single Winter since I’ve lived here, 3 if anyone is counting. It’s ridiculous, childish and certainly not something I’m proud of.  I would really like to get through March and April without completely flipping out about how much I hate the cold and “why, oh, why do we live in such a horrible place”. And I cannot forget my husband’s personal favorite, “why do you make me live here”?? Yeah, I’m a child and I zero love for the Winter. Zero. I live in a cold place and no amount of crying or pleading with God will change that. I’m really hoping #1 helps with this.

See? Freezing and happy...I can do this!!

3. Run once a week BEFORE work, every week.

Anyone who knows me is well aware of my lack of early morning skills. The funny thing is every time I run in the early(ish) morning I am so happy I did and am not tired at all the rest of the day. My real issue lies in the act of actually getting out of bed before 7:30. It’s going to take a serous push but I think I can handle getting up before 7 once a week. Maybe.

4. Learn how to knit.

I’ve actually attempted this about three times. I’ve gotten as far as getting the hang of it and then would get busy and put it off then inevitably end up wishing I finished what I started. My goal is to finish at least one scarf( and maybe some baby socks) by the end of the year.

5. Exercise 4-6 days a week.

I started this last year when I decided to commit to being healthy(more on that later). I love the way I feel when I am exercising regularly and I know it’s really important to feeling strong and healthy.

6. Save more money.

I think this is an easy one. Spend less to save more, brilliant concept I know. I have a number in mind I would like to hit by 2013 and I know I will thank myself if I get there.

7. Find a church.

I’ve actually been to 4 different churches in Boston and only liked one of them, and that was only for aesthetic reasons.  I need to do a little more research and find a place I am comfortable at so I don’t to continue to be one of those people who only goes to church on holidays. Here’s hoping I don’t end up going to 52 before December 31st!

8. Practice Yoga at least one a week.

I love yoga and I always feel so much stronger and more flexible when I go regularly, it also makes me a better runner. I sort of fell off the band wagon at the end of the year due to the intensity of marathon training. My last class was my first one in a month or so and I spent the entire hour wobbly and unbalanced. I hope to keep my practice up this year and work on a few poses I couldn’t quite master last year.

9. Blog more.

I feel like I have been neglecting this site – sorry guys! Sometimes I don’t know what to write about and sometimes I don’t know if I’m totally boring people. To help me out here, please let me know if there is anything in particular you guys think I can improve upon or write more about(or less).

10. Travel to at least one new place.

Considering most of my traveling the past few years has been to Florida, Jonathan and I would really love to take a flight to some less familiar places. We have a trip in the works for the end of the Summer so hopefully this one won’t be too difficult to fulfill.

So that’s it. My top 10 things I would like to do in 2012. Hopefully the world won’t end before I finish!! Happy New Year!

4 Responses to “My 2012 Goals”

  1. Mandy 01/04/2012 at 3:29 am #

    Where do babies fit on this list??! Haha!

    • Kristen 01/04/2012 at 5:40 pm #

      haha I was waiting for this comment. I assumed writing it down might jinx it, plus I don’t want to say we’re going to if we end up pushing it off or it takes longer than expected. Don’t you worry though, I’ve got this one written in pen in my personal calendar 😉

  2. Elysa 01/04/2012 at 11:58 am #

    What a great post! I think that those goals all seem pretty do-able…well maybe minus the running before work ;). Just think it’ll also prep you for the “B” word that Mandy mentioned at some point down the road. Take it from the girl who gets up at 5am- it is actually great to get the workout done in the morning. You just have to train yourself to go to bed earlier 🙂

  3. Ellen Supnick 02/11/2012 at 9:48 pm #

    I really enjoyed your Blog Kristen, I know Nancy for many years and knoiw yiur Husband since he was born. Hugs to both of you and continue on this journey of writing you do a great job. I am looking forward to ready about “When the Baby comes” LOL

    Ellen

Sharing is caring

